Handsome, iconic map of San Francisco before the 1906 earthquake. Includes an inset of the Bay Area; in Marin county Sausalito is labeled with old town spelling Saucelito.
The map is very detailed, with a key along the bottom that locates hundreds of points of interest. Most of city is laid out except for the area occupied by San Miguel Rancho. Blocks that are occupied are shaded; only third to half of city is occupied.
Many interesting features of late 19th century San Francisco are found on this map, including: the cemeteries at Lone Mountain, the Southern Pacific Railroad lines arriving from the southern peninsula, the Alms House Tract (Laguna Honda hospital today), Spring Valley Water Company reservoir, and more.
Circles radiate outward from the Ferry Building one apart mile apart; a reflection of the importance of ferry travel in the Bay Area decades before the Golden Gate and Bay Bridges.
Several spurious street names are shown in the Marina District, including Tonguin and Lewis. These were planned to be on landfill but were never actually created; Tonguin street is instead Marina Boulevard and Lewis is Marina Green Drive.